top of page

Theological studies

We want to be clear and transparent from the beginning:

A study at the AERT is a study of Lutheran Reformed theology. Why this theology in particular? Being a Christian is based on the Bible. On the Bible alone. The Bible is God's inspired Word and the only written access to Him. And we are convinced that this Lutheran Reformed lens alone is able to lead us to this truth, that is, what the Bible really meant and what the Bible really says. 

Every faculty member with us is obligated to teach according to this confession. However, we welcome students of any denomination who are willing to respect our confession.

Reasons - why do you have to study theology?

A parable shall serve as an answer: A professor had a young nephew. One day this nephew came home from Sunday school and said he didn't want to go play or drink or eat. It was strange. When the professor asked his nephew why, his nephew replied with the following story:

"Today the Sunday School teacher explained that Jesus does not live in heaven, but in the heart. That is why I do not want to and cannot play or eat or drink. If I eat and drink, the food and water will fall over Jesus' head and hurt Him. If I jump while playing, there will be an earthquake and Jesus will get sick. I can't do that."

We smile at this boy. However, this episode makes us realize that every believer leads and will lead his life of faith on his own system of knowledge that he has built up to this point, be it on falsely established theological knowledge, or preconceived notions and worldviews.  So every believer is basically a theologian. The boy in the episode led his life of faith on his "theology," on his childish perceptual system, and on a childish preconceived theological notion about Jesus and heaven.

 

If we had heard that Jesus is in us, we would have understood that the Holy Spirit dwells in our heart or something like that, because we have a different prior knowledge and different theological conception of God and Holy Spirit and Jesus, that is, different theology.  And we would have lived a different life of faith because of our "theology." And we might have taught and corrected the boy if we had encountered him, precisely because we have different, theology than that of the boy in episode.

C.S. Lewis once said the following: "Theology is not a science with which to make something new, but a guide on the basis of which to correct the unknowingly formed and falsely built and established conception of faith or life of faith, and the way of thinking and acting of faith made from it, in short, style of faith."

Contents

The study of theology at AERT provides the necessary knowledge from all areas of theology (usually Systematic, Historical, Biblical, and Practical Theology) to gain a firm biblical foundation, to be able to respond to the questions of our time, and to be prepared for ministry in the church.

An example of the curricula

image1_edited_edited.jpg

Of course, these curricula are developed by study leaders quite individually. For example, if you have worked in a church as a church leader or church worker, your service is recognized and you do not need to complete the subject "Leadership II" in Practical Theology. And those who have studied church history also do not need the subject "Church History I and II in Historical Theology.

Teaching method

As mentioned above, there is no compulsory attendance at AERT except for a seminar course that takes place once a year with a specific topic for one or two days. A syllabus is distributed by mail, which contains the learning objectives and the list of compulsory and advanced literature for the respective subject or courses, such as dogmatics, ethics, etc. This method of self-study is particularly suitable for those who want to learn more about a specific subject.  This method of self-study is particularly suitable for those who, for various reasons, have little or no time because of work, family or profession, etc., as one can use one's working time in a very flexible way.

The compulsory reading for each module is deliberately compiled by the director of studies on an individual basis. At least two compulsory books have to be read. Then an examination task is set. Such as, for example, for the subject Dogmatics "Comparison and evaluation of the content of two different dogmatic drafts."

This means that the student has to write a paper on this topic, i.e. the theological emphasis, differences of the authors both in approach and content etc. with at least about 12 pages. Or the student can also propose own desired dogmatic topics. If the topic is evaluated suitable and useful, he can make a paper about it. It is indispensable at Master's level to write the (short) personal evaluation of the particular topic about it. At BA this is not required. After that the syllabus for the next module is sent.

Who has collected all the required credits, which is entitled to prepare Bachelor thesis or Master's thesis. As a rule, for BA 80 page and for MA 120 page. The actual study time is therefore completely dependent on personal speed. It is possible to start studying at any time.

Performance assessment:


In addition to the preparation of syllabi, the grading of assignments for all subjects (except the sub-disciplines of Introduction to Dogmatics and Historical Theology I and II) is carried out in cooperation with the Academy for Reformation Theology in Giessen (ART) and with the Theological Missionary Science Academy (THEMA).


An examination system is only offered for the subjects Biblical Studies I and II, i.e. instead of a term paper, an examination is introduced for the students. As this subject deals with biblical knowledge, we believe that a term paper would not do justice to the learning objective of this subject.

Diploma
 

AERT is not a university itself and does not award titles, but only confirms participation in courses on a graduation document. Upon successful completion of the three-year program, the theological college then awards “Sudo Kukje Theological Seminary in Seoul(South Korea) the title M.Div.eq. There is also the possibility of being ordained by the umbrella organization of the Presbyterian Church in Seoul Korea after a successful ordination examination. 

Requirements
 

To study at AERT we require the following:

 

Personal: Confession to the Christian faith and respect for our foundations of faith

Formally: General technical or university entrance qualification (Abitur or intermediate level plus 3 years of vocational training), two references and interview with the director of studies

Linguistically: Good knowledge of German and basic knowledge of English

Municipal: Mandatory membership in a Christian church/community

Cost
 

The registration fee is $50 and is a one-time fee. The tuition fees are $500 per semester plus $1,000 for the thesis phase for mentoring and correction work. In addition, you should plan for additional expenses for study materials such as books yourself (but you can usually find the literature in university libraries or state-recognized libraries). But studying with us shouldn’t fail because of finances. If you have any questions about costs, please do not hesitate to contact us (Contact).

Application
 

You can apply at any time (recommendation: at least one month before the start of your studies) and is done by sending the application documents by email to parkchan@uni-potsdam.de or mail (address)

The application will only be processed once the documents are complete and the registration fee has been received. The decision on acceptance is usually made within one month.

bottom of page

top of page

Theologisches Studium

Wir wollen von Anfang an klar und transparent sein:

 

Ein Studium an dem AERT ist ein Studium der lutherisch-reformierten Theologie. Warum gerade diese Theologie? Christsein basiert auf der Bibel. Allein auf der Bibel. Die Bibel ist Gottes inspiriertes Wort und der einzige schriftliche Zugang zu ihm. Und wir sind überzeugt, dass diese lutherisch-reformierte Brille allein in der Lage ist, uns zu dieser Wahrheit, also was wirklich die Bibel gemeint hat und was wirklich in der Bibel steht, zu führen.

Jede*r Dozent*in bei uns ist verpflichtet, gemäß diesem Bekenntnis zu lehren. Wir begrüßen jedoch Student*innen jeder Denomination, die bereit sind, unser Bekenntnis zu respektieren.

Gründe – warum muss man Theologie studieren?

 

Als Antwort soll ein Gleichnis dienen: Ein Professor (Kim Jinhyuk) hatte einen jungen Neffen. Eines Tages kam dieser Neffe von der Sonntagsschule nach Hause und sagte, er wolle weder spielen gehen noch trinken noch essen. Es war seltsam. Als der Professor seinen Neffen nach dem Grund fragte, antwortete sein Neffe mit der folgenden Geschichte: 

„Heute erklärte die Lehrerin der Sonntagsschule, dass Jesus nicht im Himmel, sondern im Herzen wohne. Darum will und kann ich nicht spielen oder essen oder trinken. Wenn ich esse und trinke, wird das Essen und Wasser über den Kopf Jesu fallen und ihn verletzen. Wenn ich beim Spielen springe, wird ein Erdbeben auftreten und Jesus wird krank. Das kann ich nicht machen.“

Wir schmunzeln über diesen Jungen. Diese Episode macht uns jedoch klar, dass jeder Gläubige sein Glaubensleben auf sein eigenes Wissenssystem, das er bis dahin gebaut hat, führt und führen wird, sei es auf fälschlicherweise etabliertes theologisches Wissen, oder vorgefassten Vorstellungen und Weltanschauungen.  Insofern ist jeder Gläubige im Grunde genommen ein Theologe. Der Junge in der Episode führte sein Glaubensleben auf seiner „Theologie“, auf seinem kindlichen Wahrnehmungssystem und auf einer kindlich vorgefassten theologischen Vorstellung über Jesus und den Himmel.

 

Hätten wir gehört, dass Jesus in uns ist, hätten wir verstanden, dass der Heilige Geist in unserem Herzen wohnt oder so ähnlich, weil wir ein anderes Vorwissen und andere theologische Vorstellung von Gott und Heiligen Geist und Jesus haben, also andere Theologie.  Und wir hätten aufgrund unserer „Theologie“ ein anderes Glaubensleben geführt. Und wir hätten den Jungen vielleicht gelehrt und korrigiert, falls wir ihm begegnet waren, eben weil wir andere, Theologie haben als die der Junge in Episode. 

C.S. Lewis sagte einmal folgendes: "Theologie ist keine Wissenschaft, mit der man etwas Neues macht, sondern eine Anleitung, aufgrund derer die unwissentlich entstandene und fälschlicherweise gebaute und etablierte Vorstellung vom Glauben bzw. Glaubensleben sowie die daraus hergestellte Denk- und Handlungsweise des Glaubens, kurzum Glaubensstil zu korrigieren.“ (Quelle: Über das Theologische Studium 1)

Inhalt

Das Theologiestudium an der AERT bietet die nötigen Kenntnisse aus allen Bereichen der Theologie (in der Regel Systematische, Historische, Biblische und Praktische Theologie), um ein festes biblisches Fundament zu legen, auf die Fragen unserer Zeit antworten zu können und für den Dienst in der Gemeinde vorbereitet zu sein.

Ein Beispiel der Lehrpläne

image1_edited_edited.jpg

Selbstverständlich werden diese Lehrpläne von den jeweiligen  Studienleiter*innen individuell erarbeitet. Wer z.B. in einer Gemeinde als Gemeindeleiter*in bzw. Gemeindemitarbeiter*in tätig war/ist, dem/der wird sein Dienst anerkannt und benötigt er das Fach „Leiterschaft II“ in Praktischer Theologie nicht zu absolvieren. Und wer die Kirchengeschichte studiert hat, benötigt auch ebenfalls nicht das Fach „Kirchengeschichte I und II in Historischer Theologie.

Unterrichtsmethode

Wie oben bereits gesagt, gibt es bei AERT keine Präsenzpflicht außer einem Seminarkurs, der jährlich einmal mit einem spezifischen Themen ein oder zweitägig stattfindet. Es wird ein Lehrplan, einen sog. Syllabus per mail verteilt, in dem die Lernziele und die Liste der Pflichtliteratur und der weiterführenden Literatur für das jeweilige Fach, wie z.B. Dogmatik, Ethik usw. enthält.  Diese Methode des Selbststudiums ist insofern gut geeignet besonders für diejenigen, die wegen der Arbeit, Familie oder Beruf usw. keine oder wenig Zeit haben, da man seine Arbeitszeit sehr flexible verwenden kann.

Die Pflichtlektüre für das jeweilige Modul wird von dem/der Studienleiter*in ganz bewusst individuell orientiert zusammengestellt. Mindestens müsse man zwei Pflichtliteratur gelesen haben. Dann wird eine Prüfungsaufgabe gestellt. Wie z.B. für das Fach Dogmatik „Vergleich und inhaltliche Bewertung von zwei unterschiedlichen dogmatischen Entwürfen.“ 

Das heißt der Student/die Studentin in Bachelor- und Masterebene muss ein Referat über dieses Thema, also die theologische Schwerpunkte, Unterschiede der Autoren sowohl in der Herangehensweisen als auch im Inhalt usw. mindestens mit ca. 12 Seite schreiben. Oder der Student/die Studentin kann auch eigene gewünschte dogmatischen Themen vorschlagen. Wenn das Thema passend und nützlich bewertet wird, kann er darüber ein Referat anfertigen. Unerlässlich ist auf MasterEbene die (kurze) persönliche Bewertung des jeweiligen Themas dazu abzufassen. Bei BA benötigt das nicht. Danach wird dann der Syllabus für das nächste Modul geschickt.

Wer alle erforderliche Kreditpunkte gesammelt hat, dem ist berechtigt, Bachelor Arbeit oder Masterarbeit anzufertigen. In der Regel bei BA 80 Seiten und bei MA 120 Seiten. Die tatsächliche Studiendauer ist also völlig abhängig von der persönlichen Studiengeschwindigkeit. Ein Einstieg ins Studium ist jeder Zeit möglich.

Leistungsüberprüfung:

Neben dem Erstellen der Syllabi erfolgt auch die Benotung von Hausarbeiten für sämtliche Studienfächer (außer den Teildisziplinen der Einführung in die Dogmatik sowie der Historischen Theologie I und II) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Akademie für reformatorische Theologie in Gießen (ART) und mit der theologisch-missionswissenschaftlichen Akademie (Thema).

Für die Studienfächern Bibelkunde I und II wird es ein Prüfungssystem geben, das heißt anstelle einer Hausarbeit müssen die Studierenden eine Prüfung ablegen. Da es sich in diesem Studienfach um Bibelwissen handelt, würde eine Hausarbeit unseres Erachtens dem Lernziel dieses Faches nicht gerecht werden.

Abschluss
 

AERT ist selbst keine Hochschule und verleiht keine Titel, sondern bestätigt nur die Teilnahme an Kursen auf einem Abschlussdokument. Bei erfolgreicher Absolvierung des dreijährigen Programms verleiht dann die theologische Hochschule „Sudo Kukje Theological Seminary in Seoul“ (Südkorea) den Titel (M.Div.eq.). Außerdem besteht die Möglichkeit, von dem Dachverband der Presbyterian Church in Seoul Korea nach einer erfolgreichen Ordinationsprüfung ordiniert zu werden. 

Vorrausetzungen
 

Für ein Studium an der AERT setzen wir Folgendes voraus:

 

persönlich: Bekenntnis zum christlichen Glauben und Respektierung unserer Glaubensgrundlagen

formell: allgemeine Fach- oder Hochschulreife (Abitur oder auch mittlere Reife plus eine dreijährige Berufsausbildung), zwei Referenzen und Gespräch mit dem Studienleiter/in

sprachlich: gute Deutschkenntnisse und grundlegende Englischkenntnisse

gemeindlich: verbindliche Mitgliedschaft in einer christlichen Kirche/Gemeinde

Kosten
 

Die Anmeldegebühr beträgt 50 US Dollar und ist einmalig. Die Studiengebühren betragen pro Semester 500 US Dollar plus 1000 US Dollar für die Phase der Abschlussarbeit zur Mentoring und Korrekturarbeit. Darüber hinaus sollte man weitere Ausgaben für Studienmaterial wie Bücher selbst einplanen (aber in der Regel findet man den Uni-Bibliotheken oder Landesbibliotheken die Literatur). Ein Studium bei uns soll aber nicht an den Finanzen scheitern. Bei Fragen zu den Kosten stehen wir gerne zur Verfügung (Kontakt).

Bewerbung
 

Die Bewerbung ist jederzeit möglich (Empfehlung: spätestens einen Monat vor dem individuellen Studienbeginn) und erfolgt mit der Einsendung der Bewerbungsunterlagen per Mail an parkchan@uni-potsdam.de oder Post (Dr. Park, Chang Soo, Kaiser Friedrich Str. 102a, 14469 Potsdam/ Germany)

Die Bearbeitung der Bewerbung wird erst vorgenommen, wenn die Unterlagen vollständig vorliegen und die Anmeldegebühr eingegangen ist. Die Entscheidung über die Annahme erfolgt in der Regel innerhalb von einem Monat.

bottom of page